The Cora V. Taylor Safe Driving Award is annually presented to Indian Trails drivers who worked throughout the previous year while operating without a preventable accident. The award is named in honor of our company co-founder, a similarly dedicated and remarkable woman who was the first female licensed chauffeur in the United States. Mrs. Taylor was inducted into the Michigan Department of Transportation Hall of Honor in 2006, one of only a handful of females ever to be inducted.

Indian Trails recently recognized 27 drivers who completed 2023 without a preventable accident. This is a remarkable accomplishment considering the thousands of miles driven, the often dangerous weather road conditions, and the countless unsafe drivers with whom they shared the roads each day.

We’re proud to have such dedicated and professional drivers on our team and to acknowledge their accomplishments with the 2023 Cora V. Taylor Safe Driving Award.

The names of these drivers will be added to permanent plaques on display at each Indian Trails location, and all received bonuses in appreciation for their accomplishments. Their skill reminds us that safety is still everyone’s business in our 114th year of service. The following are the 2023 award recipients:


Mike Assid
Rodney Case
Tom Gates
Doug Hamlin
Jim Hill
George Lostracco
Crystal Patton
Kelly Poe
Shane Poe
Mark Sturtz
Guilleremo Villanueva-Ragan
Heather Wyatt


Chris Duva
Cleveland Frazier
Larry Honeycutt
Tiffany Monett-Gregory
Thomas Patton
Steven Redeker


Sandra Bates
Luis Garcia
Loren Nichols


Ross Beukema
Samuel Harju
Tim Holder
Eric Jewell
Adam Massoglia
William Wilson

See the rest of Indian Trails Cora V. Taylor Award recipients listed on the plaques, shown below.